Users can delete a segment when in a production schedule. It will NOT permanently delete the segment from FUTURE schedules, it will only permanently delete the segment (and the elements within the segment) from that one particular production schedule. (see images below)
STEP ONE: Find the segment that is going to be deleted and hover the mouse near the segment name, which will make the green pencil icon appear.
STEP TWO: Click the green pencil icon to bring up the settings of that segment, then click the red "Delete Segment" button.
STEP THREE: Finally, click the red "Delete Forever" button.